July 15th 1998 Executive Committee Minutes
Doug Coe

Present: Ed Anacker, Andrea Stierle, Don Stierle, Douglas Cameron, and Doug Coe.

The Executive Committee of the Montana Section met at noon on July 15th, 1998, in Butte, MT, at Noodles and Wraps, a local Butte eatery.

Minutes of the meeting held on April 11th, 1998 at Montana Tech were distributed by Doug Coe and appoved.

Ed Anacker reported that this year the section has 5 members who have served in the American Chemical Society for 50 years. These members are Graeme Baker (Libby), Winslow S. Caughey (Hamilton), Lucille E. Hilpert (Butte), David Lehwalder (Sheridan, WY), and Tony Prudlich (Great Falls). The section is extending a special invitation to each of these members to attend the Fall Social at Old Faithful, where their years of membership will be recognized and certificates of appreciation from the ACS will be presented. We hope to publish a short biography of these 50 year members on our WEB site and in our newsletter sometime in the future.

A Nominating Committee of Ed Waali, Andrea Stierle, and John Amend have been asked to field a slate of candidates for Chair-Elect (Chair in 2000), Secretary (2 year term - Doug Coe is temporarily filling this position), and Alternate Councilor (3 year term). Members of the section should contact the members of the Nominating Committee if they wish to nominate someone for these offices or if they wish to put their own name in nomination. Note that you can nominate individuals for these offices by filling out and submitting the electronic nomination form on our WEB site.

The Montana Section has agreed to offer three $500 awards (two to graduate students and one to an undergraduate) for the best poster presentations at the poster session held in conjuction with the Section's Fall Social and Meeting. This award must be used to defray the costs of making a presentation at a regional or national meeting. This year the Fall Social will be held at the Snow Lodge at Old Faithful in Yellowstone Park on October 3rd. The 1st six students who register for the poster session prior to September 7th, will have their lodging and the Saturday evening meal paid for by the section. Entry forms and information about the poster session may be obtained from Arnold Craig in the Department of Chemistry at Montana State University in Bozeman.

The Fall Social will be held on October 3rd at the Snow Lodge at Old Faithful in Yellowstone Park. Paul and Brenda Cohen of Brooklyn College will provide an after dinner talk on America's Scientific Treasures at the Social.

At the Northwest Region Meeting (NOR) held this past June in Richland, WA, the Montana Section expressed preliminary interest in hosting the 2003 Northwest Region Meeting of the American Chemical Society at Montana Tech in Butte.

The Spring 1999 Montana Section of the ACS Meeting in Miniature will be held at Montana Tech in conjuction with the Spring Meeting of the Montana Academy of Sciences. Contact Don Stierle for details.

The Montana Section has agreed to host a public debate on The Use, Remediation, and Environmental Consequences of Cyanide Heap Leaching in Gold Mining. This debate will be held in Helena approximately 2-3 weeks prior to the November 3rd ballot initiative to ban the use of cyanide in mining. Preliminary discussions have the debate starting with a 10 to 15 minute overview of cyanide in the context of the talk by a knowledgable neutral speaker. This would be followed by 15 minute pro and con presentations by panels of three individuals representing the two sides of the issue. Each panel would be given 10 minutes to rebut the other's arguments and then the discussion would be opened up to the audience. Andrea Stierle and Doug Coe have volunteered to coordinate this debate.